Life Of A Fangirl

bd58d63e4e4e616e2640d8d1933bb054
{Pinterest}

So believe or not- although you probably will, if you have been will me awhile –  I am a bit of a fangirl. For those who don’t know what that is  a fangirl is – basically – *a female fan, especially one who is obsessive about comics, film, music, or science fiction.

Or basically any TV show, fictional character or band. We are over the top but our love is strong and we are unapologetic.

Its kind of the Millennials gift to pop culture, really

We share celebrity crushes. We convert people, we slyly slide a book or tv series your way, with an evil grin on our faces – because we know what you are in for.

If you have been on sites like Tumblr or even pinterest and instagram to a certain degree. You’ll see phrases that people use that you think you understand, but the way they use them  is a little unusual and maybe  doesn’t make sense – even if the words do.

So I have picked some my favourites to explain. A Fangirl (and Fanboy) glossary if you will

**

I died.
MEANS: I am overwhelmed.

OTP
MEANS: One True Pairing.

Mom/Dad
MEANS: Role Model

Adhkydvkvecibggrxavjnxjxsz
MEANS: A state of wordless excitement.

Slay.
MEANS: Show ‘em how it’s done.

How Dare You?

MEANS: You are amazing, this is amazing!
NOT: And express of outrage

Ship
MEANS: A pair that I think should be together.
NOT: A vessel

I’ll go down with this ship.
MEANS: I’ll be emotional about this pairing and love it forever and ever.
NOT: I’m going to drown

WHY????
MEANS: this has given me so many emotions that I can barely process them.
NOT: a question.

Are you happy now?
MEANS: you just caused me so many feels (feelings)  that I can’t deal with

Who gave you the right???
MEANS: Your work caused me to become emotional and overwhelmed with feelings

And my personal favorites

Thanks, Satan
MEANS: This made me feel things I wasn’t prepared to, but I am honest enough to admit I liked it.
NOT: Devil worshipping

Beautiful Cinnamon Roll Too Precious For This World

MEANS: Someone who is very sweet and innocent, yet has bad things happen to them.
Often used in reference to fictional characters but sometime actual people who are gorgeous, inside and out

So next time youre surfing the web – you’ll know what we are talking about

xxLayla

*as per google

**Thanks to Tumblr for the help

Leave a Reply

