Some Things Are Unknown

mlk_family2
{WND.com}

I was stuck by the timing of this week and everything that is going on in US Politics. The week started with Martin Luther King Day and it ended with Donald Trump being sworn in as the president. I know what you’re thinking. Myself not being a US citizen, why would I be so concerned?

No matter where we live. No matter the country, backgrounds, upbringing, back accounts and political party we place our faith in. We are ALL citizens of the world.

The world is in a state of great change

But let’s start at the beginning of the week

Martin Luther King is one of my favourite people in the history of well, ever. I think I was in my second year of high school and I had to do a school project on him. I heard that speech and a door opened for me. Not surprising to me now, but that speech was about a dream. So Martin Luther King Day – is one of my favourite days. My news feed on every social media outlet gets flooded with quotes and photographs – It’s a celebration of a great man’s life. A man that gave his life for the things he believed it.

I remember when Barack Obama was announced as president. I was elated for him and the places that he would guide America or at least try to guide, but funnily enough – my first thought was of MLK. It was actually a question

Are you seeing this?

Hoping that somehow he could see what was happening

michelle-barack-obama-670_zps7e15c4bb
{Bossip.com}

Of all the quotes that I saw posted on MLK Day this year there are two quotes that were my favourite

Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase

And

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy

 

No matter where you stand in the Donald Trump camp. If you’re for and against him. If you’re a supporter or  anything but that. We find ourselves in a time of the unknown. With the unknown, comes fear and uncomfortability

It is how we deal with these feelings that actually matter.

The thing I found most astounding about the race for the White House was how hate come up on top. Tribal mentality reared its ugly head. If you weren’t with us, you were against us and that was all the knowledge that was needed.

The fact is. We don’t know what will come next.

But

We have each other. We may need each other. We may need that leap of faith on that staircase that we can’t see.

One thing is for sure – we will need to evolve.

Donald Trump may surprise us and preform greatly. Make some amazing changes and lead forward. I hope he does.

Only time will tell

We will need each other either way.

But as another great man that left us far too early once said

Give Peace A Chance

Some things are unknown

No matter what happens. The decisions that are out of our hands. The doors that may open or close

Just remember

Love can build sturdy bridges and understanding, and faith can guide you across

It all comes back to Faith and Love

Doesn’t it?

xxLayla

Leave a Reply

