Princess & Queen

c6753ea0b71d3377e1d822c664f1c205
{Pinterest}

I think I’m going to let Carrie Fisher have this one. Princess Leia was the first kick ass woman I ever saw on film. Now, that said, I was never a huge Star Wars fan. I saw it once and that was enough but the character made an impact on me. I had been so used to Disney princesses and sugary sweet girls. So to see someone like Leia, was quite earth shattering.

Tough, capable, resourceful. Princess Leia took matters into her own hands. Although secretly taken with Han Solo – that was never the importance of the character. It was the first smart-ass relationship I ever saw and I loved it and is very much how I am now.

Han Solo: Afraid I was gonna leave without giving you a goodbye kiss?
Princess Leia: I’d just as soon kiss a Wookiee.

Carrie Fisher, herself was more strong, courageous and self-deprecating then anyone could have written Leia, to be – well, expect for maybe Carrie herself.

She had a very successful writing career of her own. She served as an uncredited script doctor for many movies including Hook, My Girl 2 and Coyote Ugly (which explains so much but the character of Lil, in my opinion). Also penning over ten books.  She fought alcoholism and not only lived with bi-polar disorder but fought the stigma attached to mental disorders. Carrie was no stranger to poking fun at herself or her most famous role.

She was brassy, brave and no-bullshit. Hollywood royalty who never acted like the world owed herself anything. She worked and fought for everything

One of my favorite tributes came this week – it didn’t talk about Carrie’s work but Carrie as a person, from her friend Selma Blair

carrie
{The Selma Blair Instagram}

therealselmablair A friend tells me grief is love that can no longer be expressed. It makes sense. Carrie was the type of person that not only allowed you to express your love, she demanded it. With her attention, her laughter, her wit, her inimitable way of making you feel like you were the most beloved person, even if you felt nobody else could tolerate you. She had words for them too! She was a mother so in love with her child, I often think… what would Carrie do when I reach a challenge with my own child. She was generous and beautiful. I grieve. I didn’t see her often since I holed away with Arthur, but I know when I see her again, she will put me at ease, take my hand and show me around. At least that is my dream. I won’t say goodbye to you Carrie fisher. I recently missed my chance to say hello and I hope that won’t happen again. You were the best kind of everything and I am grateful for your kisses and your life. Bless you dear one. I wish you could hear me say I love you. We all love you. #carriefisher

 

2016 was a year that took many of our idols from us but what death cannot take from us, is the lessons they taught us while they were here and the lessons that they will continue to teach the people that discover them after their deaths. The people that they will continue making an impact on. That is priceless and indescribable

No motive is pure. No one is good or bad-but a hearty mix of both. And sometimes life actually gives to you by taking away

~ Carrie Fisher, Wishful Drinking

xxLayla

Leave a Reply

