Love & Hope In A Troubled World

image

Hi Beautiful Souls,

This week has been a sad one in terms of the world. From Nepal to Baltimore to Bali there is pain all around us. People are in pain, people are angry, people have been executed. No matter what your opinion on Baltimore or Bali is, politically or mortally . I think the one thing that we can all agree on is that we are all in pain this week. We are all angry. We are sad and we are all hurting.

It’s easy after a week like this  to throw our hands up in the air and say ‘To Hell With It’. Its easy  to concede and say ‘Well That’s, That’  – to think  ‘well, this is the world we now live in, it only getting worse’

Just to except it and adapt – I refuse.

This is just a bad week.

There is a Garth Brooks song called The Change and the first time I heard this song I was in my early twenties and despite listen to his music my whole life. It was the first time I heard this song. Maybe it found me when I needed it. Your twenties, you’re truly growing up . You’re seeing the world for the first time and realising wow, some really messed up things happen and its shattering – much like this week has been

In this song it says

And I hear them saying you’ll never change things and no matter what you do it’s still the same thing ,but it’s not the world that I am changing. I do this, so this world will know. That it will not change me

That’s me. As I said it’s easy just to give up and go down the dark road to worse.
This same song says

As long as one heart still holds on . Then hope is never really gone

That’s the way I choose to live my life. I’m holding on. I’m a dreamer, a wisher, a hoper – some might say a no-hoper. Some might see me being a dreamer  as me not being in the world of reality  and they can say that, they can think that.

But

The one thing that can change this world is love.

Simple, right? Too simple? Too easy?

Love can overcome a numerous horrors and the thing about love is, that it will return to you once given.

This loss will be met with a hurricane of love ~ Jessie Baylor, Elizabethtown

This happens and sometimes in the strangest ways imaginable. On Tuesday I was on my way home from week on twitter, god bless technology, reading everybody tweets on Baltimore and the people going to battle the issues that are, the Catalyst to the events of Baltimore, Franklin and a number of other cities.

I lost my hope, my heart was heavy and I went dark, because I felt like this was the start of a revival of The Civil Rights Moment. So much good and growth rightfully so, came out of that movement.

You only have to look are where we were as a society today and where we were then to see all the great things that came because of those peoples bravery but it wasn’t without its pain.

It was the pain that I was fearing. It was the thought of going backwards and the pain yet to come, that made my heart heavy. It made me fearful for the future.

I found a picture of a  quote from one of my favorite teachers in love and life John Lennon ( you guys aren’t surprised, I know) and at first I wrote the Albert Einstein line about insanity and things repeating itself. Later I took it down because I thought was too negative, I didn’t want people to take it the wrong way. Instead I posted the same picture and wrote Live with Love. Lead with Love. Love is Louder.

I woke up the next morning and a movement known as Love Is Louder had retweeted my post – in turn – 30 other people had either retweeted or pressed it as a favorite and through all these connections and love given. There was a message on Instagram that said  

The world needs more people like you…

This isn’t a humble brag – I’m trying to prove a point

Once love is given – Love will return to you, somehow, some way and when your heart is heavy and your hope is lost. The troubled world we live in can surprise you and bring the hope right back to your doorstep

So I shall remain a dreamer, a hoper, a giver, a wisher and I shall pass it on to someone who may not it more than I realise at the time because dispute all the troubles and heartache of  this week

Love is stronger. Love is louder as long as we keep going.

And we need to help each other remember why that hope and love needs to continue

xxLayla

One thought on “Love & Hope In A Troubled World

  1. Well done AGAIN Layla. A truly heartfelt and insightful commentary from the old soul that is Layla Genovese

Leave a Reply

