If Not Me, Who? The Creation Of Níos Fearr

image

Hi Beautiful Souls

So as you beauties and gents know, I haven’t been around a lot lately. My posts have been disappearing but still a few regulars a week. I’ve been working on something and nothing to do with writing or anything you know me for. My new little project that is very close to my heart. It is very small right now but I am hoping with all my heart that it grows.

Depression affects 350 million people world. Suicide remains the leading cause of death for Australians aged between 15 and 44. Men account for three out of every five deaths by suicide, making suicide the 10th leading cause of death for males, (and that’s just Australia) but the subject is still taboo. It’s a situation that is very close to my heart. I have lost three people to suicide and watched many friends battle depression in one form or another. Sadly I was one of those people that didn’t understand how someone could take their own life. There is that stigma and it wasn’t until I lost someone that way that I got a whole different perspective to the situation. I’ve lost more people to depression & suicide than I have anything else. The last time it happened, the day it happened, I remember saying ‘Someone needs to do something about this’ it wasn’t until last year that I realized I could be that person.

{Made By Me}
{Made By Me}

You know that saying One Kind Word Can Change Someone’s Entire Day – That’s what I am trying to do.

So I created Níos Fearr, which is Gaelic translates to better in English

My theory is that you don’t have to be all sunshine, puppies and unicorns all the time – you just have to be better today than you had yesterday. If you have a better today, then a better tomorrow, then a better day after that. You shall get there is the end. One happier day at a time. Not just people battling depression but anyone that is suffering a bad day or feeling blue or the mean reds as Holly Golightly said

So since most things in this world can rotate around Facebook or the internet in general – I created a Facebook page and began posting encouragement, aspirational quotes and pictures to brighten people’s days – working on the bases that One Kind Word Can Change Someone’s Entire Day. I also started a Tumblr page of the same name

tumblr_nfurzaU1px1tiyj7vo1_500

Yes, I am probably over simplifying the situation. Is Nios Fearr the magic cure? No. I wish it was. I wish I had the answer to all your problems. I wish I could hug each and every one of you and make it all better. Take all the pain, the doubt and darkness away, but I can’t but I am hoping to help, if only in a little way

You don’t have to be a hundred and ten per cent. You don’t have to be all sunshine, puppies and unicorns –You will hopefully find a glimmer of light and crawl out of that darkness that seems so heavy.

As I said it’s still a very small project only reaching a handful of people but if you would like to get involved or  just take a look – you can meet us

Here – on Facebook

Or

Here – on Tumblr

If you would like to submit a quote, picture or anything to Nios Fearr send it to our email: niosfearrtomorrow@gmail.com

Even better, if you think someone needs a pick me up or would like to spread the word about Nios Fearr. I would love you forever

xxLayla

Leave a Reply

