Music Monday : Foy Vance

DSC_6761Hi My Loves,

There is a 30 seconds to mars video clip and a girl says “Some people believe in God. I believe in music. Some people pray. I turn up the radio” – That’s the music and the artist I want to share with you. When I hear a song and in the opening few bar in the intro and that song makes my soul a little lighter–the music that stops me and reminds me why I love music so much. That is the music I wanna tell you guys about because if it has made me feel that way – I hope to pass that on to you and make the world a little less dark.

You guys know I hold a very special place in my heart for singer/songwriter and this man is one of them and I found him indirectly through Ed Sheeran, who covered one of his songs called ‘Make It Rain’ – I thought it must have been a cover of a blues song of the thirties and forties. The lyrics and music had that music soul to it that it sounded like it belonged with the greats of that era. Imagine my surprise when I started researching that it was written by an Irishman and an Academy Award winner

20131220103013Foy-Vance-lg

Vance was selected as one of the support acts for Ed Sheeran’s UK tour in 2012 after playing BBC’s Proms in the Park in Belfast that same year. If not for this twist of fate – I may not have found him and for that I am grateful.

This guy is just pure talent. He mixes rock with folk and a touch of soul perfectly and his lyrics are deep yet catchy. His songs are so unique and mellow, I love them. Foy Vance has an outstanding voice. Once you hear him, you will never forget him.

xxLayla

Leave a Reply

