Good Living, Good Life: They’re Not You’re Actual Sister

{We Heart It}
{We Heart It}

Hi My Doves,

Good Living, Good Life – has been getting some amazing feedback, so I am going to try and make it a weekly thing. It’s nice to know I am helping you guys in some little way. So today I thought I’d talk to you (at you really) about connection.

It seems like a simple thing – connection – but in lives such as ours, when everything is at hyper speed and you can never get everything done its easy just to roll through life, not really connected to anything or thinking that you are, but figuring out that you’re not.

{We Heart It}
{We Heart It}

My parents are really cool, I maybe be one of the first children in the history of the world to admit that, but I do. I’ve always grown up with a big family – but not all my family is blood related. I’ve always called my parents close friends, aunty and uncle and their children as my cousins. I’ve always loved them as such.

As I’ve grown up – I’ve taken the same approach to life. I’ve had sisters – friends I’ve meet along the way – that I have had an insanely strong connection with that – they have felt like a sister. So that is what I’ve called them.

My parents theory is that, if you love them as such. They are your family. If your heart tells you that they are your family. That’s what they are.

The thing is that some people can’t understand the concept and the strange thing is – it’s normally people with (blood/DNA) sisters. This is only in my experience, it always been kind of look down upon – and just brushed away as ‘oh, they’re not you’re actual sister not like me and my sisters’ – I used to try and justify that their sisters and my sisters weren’t any different because to me they’re not – but I’ve stopped doing that now because I’ve realized it doesn’t matter what other people think. I don’t need to justify anything and if not any other reason then – it’s all about connection.

That said like all relationships sometimes my sister relationship have had a shelf life. That connection has disappeared. It’s like that poem ‘People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime’  I don’t know who wrote the poem unfortunately, but it is amazing and oh so very true. So some of my sisters – have only been for a season – we had that connection for a few years and lost it over time or distance or the fact that both parties had changed and that’s okay. The relationship has served its purpose and you move on to find other connects to other people and maybe after time – find your way back to each other – always keep that door open to the possibility.

Go out, meet new people – I know it can be scary but if you be yourself – the right people will find you and you will make that connect again.

Always try to make a connection to someone – to something and your life will be happy

xxLayla

2 thoughts on “Good Living, Good Life: They’re Not You’re Actual Sister

  1. REASONS AND SEASONS

    People come into your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime…When
    you figure out which it is, you know exactly what to do.

    When someone is in your life for a Reason, it is usually to meet a need you
    have expressed outwardly or inwardly. They have come to assist you through
    a difficulty, to provide you with guidance and support, to aid you
    physically, emotionally, or spiritually. They may seem like a godsend, and
    they are. They are there for the reason you need them to be.

    Then, without any wrong doing on your part or at an inconvenient time, this
    person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end.
    Sometimes they die. Sometimes they walk away. Sometimes they act up or out
    and force you to take a stand. What we must realize is that our need has
    been met, our desire fulfilled; their work is done. The prayer you sent up
    has been answered and it is now time to move on…

    When people come into your life for a Season it is because your turn has
    come to share, grow, or learn. They may bring you an experience of peace
    or make you laugh. They may teach you something you have never done. They
    usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy…Believe it! It is real!
    But, only for a season…

    Lifetime relationships teach you lifetime lessons–those things you must
    build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation. Your job is to
    accept the lesson, love the person/people; and put what you have learned
    to use in all other relationships and areas of your life.

    Author Unknown

    loosely based on a verse from the bible..

    Ecclesiastes 3
    King James Version (KJV)
    3 To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:
    2 A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;
    3 A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;
    4 A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
    5 A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
    6 A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;
    7 A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
    8 A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

    Love your Blog.

    One of your parents friends.

    tez

Leave a Reply

