Plan it, know it. Forget it, do it.

large (1)

Hi My Doves,

You know I hate when creative mind/creative soul – wether that be an artist, a writer, musician or an actor – talks about ‘their craft’ – on the odd occasion it doesn’t come across pretentious, but more of the time – sadly it does. I don’t see my writing as a ‘craft’ – it’s just something I have to do – I have to write these things do – otherwise the voices are going to kill me from the inside out. Writing is a solo adventure. You’re alone in your study – staring blankly at a screen-waiting for the words. When they don’t – it’s I think more tiring, then when they do. It can leave you stunned, stupefied, anesthetized, lobotomized – (yes, I borrowed that for Woody Allen) – it’s the worst thing in the world.

I’ve found myself in a bit of a pickle – I have this idea – I think it’s a great idea. I started to write it – three chapters in – other then the heroine’s name the test reader seem to like it – I have a title and a cast – in my head – great – that normally my first hurdles that I can’t get over and I’ve bounced over them with ease, until

(tires screech.)

And I’ve stop

tumblr_n26nbnqdDy1ruqjmto1_400

Steven King has said that there is no such thing as writers block – and maybe he is right but for me at least – it’s like there is a wall just behind my forehead – that prevents me seeing anything or hearing anything – such as dialog or actions that these people are going to do. Without characters showing you, telling you what their story is – you have no direction to go.

This idea I have is unlike anything I have ever written before – once that thought crept into my mind – although exciting at first, has now become a wee bit terrifying. Although there are effects that are the same – it is a totally different feel – but I know the twist – and I know the plot, around about but the rest is unknown territory. I think that is the root of my problem and research is needed for this one I think and that’s to a certain degree, is new to me.

I heard this theory – this technique, is regards to acting, actually. It was Plan it, know it. Forget it, do it. That is going to be my plan. I have to research things, a have to build them up. It’s another road to take, it different but sometime you just have to follow you nose and hope you’ll get there in the end

xxLayla

One thought on “Plan it, know it. Forget it, do it.

Leave a Reply

