Doth mother know you weareth her drapes?

quills_stills_027

I am about to confesses to major fan-girl-antics. As I’ve said before I have recently gotten into Shakespeare. Well, back into Shakespeare, really. It was one of those subjects that everybody knows but it’s the depth that has surprised by the most. I hadn’t realised just how many plays he wrote. I mean you hear the titles and your brain goes ‘That’s Shakespeare’ but until you see them all listed – you really can’t comprehend it. Maybe the difference is that I now want to learn more about it. I want to jump into that ocean. When Shakespeare is taught in school – well in my high school at least – we learnt Romeo and Juliet. The downfall was because I had drama class and English, I covered Romeo and Juliet twice. Excellent, when it came to assignments. I finished study it in Drama first and thankfully we watched King Lear – which until recently I forgot how much I had loved it back then. After we finished it in Drama, we started it in English. By the time that was finished – I didn’t want to read anything Shakespeare, ever again.

Twelve years later – I want to just back into that ocean – if I’m honest with you, my doves. I want to drown in it. One thing that has really floored me is how many phrases we use today that actually were written by or at least popularized by him

  • All of a sudden
  • Come what come may
  • He will give the Devil his due
  • In a pickle
  • More fool you
  • The Devil incarnate
  • Vanish into thin air
  • Wild goose chase
  • Night owl
  • Pound of flesh
  • Love is blind
  • I will wear my heart upon my sleeve
  • This is a sorry sight.
  • Like the Dickens

Okay fine, no one actually says – Like the Dickens- but it’s cool nevertheless. Maybe it’s the challenge I’m liking. Although I love reading this stuff, it can have it’s moment when I get lost and don’t understand.

This weekend I am diving a series called The Hollow Crown – I’ve watched bits and pieces on you tube and decided to buy it online. I am a little embarrassed to admit it but when I received that little yellow envelop. I was so excited – I may or may not have hugged the envelop with both arms. If you guys need me, I’ll be in my living room

xxLayla 

Leave a Reply

