Music Monday: Bon Iver

tumblr_mz2i29GHQs1ruz0y6o1_500Hi My Doves,

I heard about Bon Iver from a second-hand source. It was a Song Of The Day Tweet. Not knowing this person who recommended this, and not knowing their taste in music, I was a little unsure, but how else do we learn. How else does our world grow? It was a song called ‘I Can’t Make You Love Me / Nick of Time’ – It’s beautiful and actually the song was recorded by Bonnie Raitt in 1991. Justin Vernon makes it his own the style is so hypnotic… but also had as much weight. It takes my breath away every time I hear it and I think I will always love it. Seriously once I downloaded – I had it on repeat for a day and listened to it most days since. If that isn’t enough it make me research who this band was – I don’t know what is.

The band founded in 2007 by singer-songwriter Justin Vernon. The band also includes Michael Noyce, Sean Carey, Colin Stetson and Matthew McCaughan amongst others. They fall under the heading of American indie folk but as I’ve said before titles, categories aren’t important to me – what is important is the music

Justin Vernon explained the band “It’s partly named after the (geological) era, but it’s also the name of a bar in Portland where I had a dark night of the soul.” He also stated that “the title is a metaphor for when you’re not doing well. But it’s also a song about redemption and realizing that you’re worth something; that you’re special and not special at the same time.”

1591669-bon-iver-snl-617-309

He once moved to his father’s cabin in the woods of Northwestern Wisconsin. With a pile of old guitars, a mound of microphones, wires, chords, electric boxes. For several months, he dug in, chopping wood, thinking, writing, playing, recording. When he emerged, he had nine songs, about 35 minutes of music.

I believe that is how the best music is made – over time, with distance from life and space to grow and be born.

One person on you tube said about the band music ‘hen I feel like I am heading into a  dark place, I listen to Bon Iver and the light is never too far away’ and I can honestly understand why.

Their music is soothing that relaxes me on my way to and from work or while I am in my study writing

Have a listen and tell me what you think

xxLayla

Leave a Reply

