Challenge Accepted

{Pinterest}
{Pinterest}

Hello My Loves,

Soooo, I am setting myself a challenge this year and I hope it is going to help my writing. I read a quote last week (you guys know I love a good quote) I think it was by John Green that said ‘Reading is a writer’s apprenticeship’. I’m paraphrasing because john green would have been more eloquent then that but it’s not the first time I’ve heard this. Stephen King has said something very similar. Reading is something I always used to do – I used to read like ten-fifteen books a year. I think last year I would have been lucky to read two more three and that is just plain wrong. As you guys know I’ve been running into some trouble with my writing over the past year – I’ve been bouncy and I don’t mean ‘wow, that dialog is fun and bouncy’ – I mean – wow I have a lot of people and three storylines in my head – lets write them all.

So here is my personal challenge – to read more- I know doesn’t sound like much of a challenge – but I think it will help me in some way.

8ffd8b1e292d97550b50da36ed9c1068261ac8dcdf3fb7445755f7418401d30f

Plus I am one of those people that will always walk out of a book store empty hands. I can think of at least ten books digital and print – in my place that I haven’t even started and at least five I’ve started but never finished – crazy right? That’s what I am doing. I am going to see home many books I can read in one year – if I don’t read at least twelve I am going to be disappointed.

January’s novel is Gone Girl – because Gwen told me it was awesome and I want to read it before the movie comes out

If you guys want to read it or re read it along with me – go for it.

Drop me a comment

Wish me luck

xxLayla

2 thoughts on “Challenge Accepted

Leave a Reply

