Music Monday: Katey Sagal

{gemmateller}
{gemmateller}

Hi Beautiful Souls,

So when I was little I wanted to grow up and be Peg Bundy, cos I thought she was awesome and then I started watching Sons of Anarchy and wanted to grow up and be Gemma Teller Morrow. At this point I think at the age of almost twenty nine, I want to grow up and be Katey Sagal. That said I know many people don’t know that Ms Katey Sagal has a stellar voice. You see I am one of those people who that if an actor brings out an album I have to buy it. It’s one of those things that can either be a very good thing or a very bad thing, in the case of Ms Sagal it was a fantastic thing. Katey had a successful career as a backup singer, working with artists such as Bob Dylan, Etta James and Bette Midler, but she knew she always wanted to sing center stage and who can blame her, with a voice like this
2de6fc4cfa3735f1a35ab01bb7d0b01e
I actually brought her second album first and it was called Room. After listening to Room a couple thousand times, I can tell this I will play this CD many, many more times to come. “Heaven is…” is a beautiful, haunting song and “Daddy’s Girl” makes me cry and will be for any Daddy’s girl. it’s fantastic. She has a great rock and roll sound and a bit raspy but amazing.
After listening the life out of Room I decided to track down her first album Well and wasn’t disappointed. I can’t put into words how good Well is. So I am going to let the songs speak for themselves. You tube it, itunes it – You will love it just as much as I do.
Well on this very day the 11th November, Ms Sagal’s  new album is being released called ‘Covered’. Her first studio album in nine years and I will certainly be buying mine
Covered is the combined effort of Bob and myself, discovering and interpreting an eclectic mix of music that I connected with. Some of the songs reflect on my younger life, and some from music I listen to now…material from Ryan Adams, Ray LaMontagne, Steve Earle, etc. All have personal meaning and reason for me to want to sing them.” ~ Katey Sagal

Love L

xox

Leave a Reply

