Love Shines Through Tragedy

vd-fire-bluemtn

 

Things have been a little exciting in my neck of the woods of the past week and by exciting – I mean frightening. There have been major bushfires around twenty kilometres away from my hometown and the whole place is in chaos. Although I am safe where I am – I have family and friends in the danger zones. So to say life has been an easy over the past week would be an understatement. People have lost homes – lost everything only escape with their family and what they could pack into their car. Friends have been forced to protect their homes with nothing but buckets and garden hose with hell closing in.

This is Australia. There is a very famous Australian poem by a lady by the name of Dorothea Mackeller called My Country – which goes

 

The love of field and coppice

Of green and shaded lanes,

Of ordered woods and gardens

Is running in your veins.

Strong love of grey-blue distance,

Brown streams and soft, dim skies

I know, but cannot share it,

My love is otherwise.

I love a sunburnt country,

A land of sweeping plains,

Of ragged mountain ranges,

Of droughts and flooding rains.

I love her far horizons,

I love her jewel-sea,

Her beauty and her terror

The wide brown land for me!

The stark white ring-barked forests,

All tragic to the moon,

The sapphire-misted mountains,

The hot gold hush of noon,

Green tangle of the brushes

Where lithe lianas coil,

And orchids deck the tree-tops,

And ferns the warm dark soil.

Core of my heart, my country!

Her pitiless blue sky,

When, sick at heart, around us

We see the cattle die

But then the grey clouds gather,

And we can bless again

The drumming of an army,

The steady soaking rain.

Core of my heart, my country!

Land of the rainbow gold,

For flood and fire and famine

She pays us back threefold.

Over the thirsty paddocks,

Watch, after many days,

The filmy veil of greenness

That thickens as we gaze …

An opal-hearted country,

A wilful, lavish land

All you who have not loved her,

You will not understand

though Earth holds many splendours,

Wherever I may die,

I know to what brown country

My homing thoughts will fly.

 

This is my country. This is where I live. Living so close to those sapphire-misted mountains, we do this every summer, to some extent but this year it has taken us by surprise and knocked us on our backside and it’s not even summer yet but something else that my country is known for is helping people out. We are the first to hold out a hand and pull some one up and dust them off.

Smoke

Ever since this all began on Wednesday my FB page has been flooded with people offering things. Beds that they no longer need, guitars for the musical people that have lost theirs, so they can continue playing music – play through the pain. Café’s offering free food to people who need it. The storage company in my hometown offering free storage for what people for left – not for days while people get back on their feet – but for a year, so it’s one less thing people have to worry about. Photographers offering free sessions to family, so they can rebuild the albums and memories. Photographs of fire fighters back burning area so people will be safe if the fire keeps working its way down the hill

bushfires-in-sydney-injure-seven-firemen

That same storage company making care packages for the fire-fighters – so they can keep saving people and saving homes. Domino’s Pizza have given out over 500 pizza to family and firefighters

1393866_10151748259897987_1663862932_n

Pictures of missing pets that have been found, cars that have been abandoned and I message from one of my old friends who’s friend and their children lost everything – we’re all pulling together and giving what we can. Friends that have moved overseas seeing pictures and news reports – tells us all how much their worried and how much they love us.

 

Love always shines through tragedy

Love L

xox

Leave a Reply

