Music Monday: Megan Hilty – It Happens All The Time

large

If you have seen Megan Hilty it has possibly been off the hit show Smash (I know there is a more popular musical shows on our airways. For my money Smash was one of the best and truthful shows on tv) or you may have been lucky enough to see her on Broadway, if you have I am jealous of you. Not only is she beautiful and sweet but  has a talent  that submerges both.

007

When I heard that she had release an album I was interested to see what songs she would pick. Would they be Broadway inspired? I was surprised and very pleased to see she went down a different avenue completely, doing contemporary covers of the songs that she loves. Megan choose songs and tracks that resonated with her on a deep level. Every song on this album is very personal to her and you can tell that by the way that she sings them. Every single track has special meaning to her and that’s what music is all about.

Megan-Hilty-It-Happens-All-The-Time-Album-Cover

The album is not flashy but when you sing with that much passion and feeling, it doesn’t need to be. There are covers of Switchfoot’s “Dare You To Move” and Damien Rice’s “The Blower’s Daughter” and my favorite version of Taylor Swifts ‘Safe and Sound’ Megan smashes it out of the park. It’s beautiful– it was the first time I actually paid attention to the lyrics but my personal favorite, the one that speaks to my soul is the title track ‘It Happens All The Time’ absolutely beautiful

normal_001

The more I played this album the better it gets and the more I fall in love with it. Megan’s vocals are so strong it sends chills through you as you listen. She croons and soars. This is an album is something you would press play, sit down, relax and drink some wine and have an experience in what music should be. Real and full of emotion

Love L

xox

Leave a Reply

