Roadblocks

large

 

Hi My Loves

So I have a dirty little secret. I write Fan fiction – yes I know laugh away – although I will never tell you my pen name & I haven’t been writing regularly (I’m starting to get back into it) I finding the stories I get reviewed on, the more I want to write. The more I want to please. I’ve been in a bit of a rut when it comes to my novel. I’ve got the ideas but somewhere from my brain and the page the magic gets lost and I’m finding it really hard to write more than a paragraph.

 

This isn’t new to me – I’ve been here before when I decided to jump into Fan Fiction because it gets your mind somewhere else on other people and for some reason, that clears whatever road block is in your mind. At first I didn’t think people would reading it – or even think that it was good or being liked but one by one people that I didn’t know started to review them and like them. Asking me to keep writing. When a message comes through to you that says

 

WOW! you are an amazing writer! This chapter was unbelievably AMAZING!

&

Oh no what did that last line mean? What? Noooooooo. I’m sorry. I’m emotional.

You can’t help but want to write more because you know some people are enjoying what your writing and at least for me. I don’t want to disappoint them. Now don’t get me wrong it’s not all ‘Don’t-you-think-I’m-good’ ‘Please-tell-me-how-good-I-am’. Sometimes it’s stuff I really need to know.

I have a suggestion, and don’t take this the wrong way. Do you read your posts before you put them up? I mean, read them word for word, out loud? I think that would help the story read better because there are a lot of instances where you have used the wrong word, or there is a bit of a word soup and it makes it hard to follow. That being said, I really do like the story.

Feedback that helps me become a better writer and who does want to become better at something they love doing. At the very least – when I am down in the dumps like I have been about my writing. Question if it is just a foolish dream. If I should just pack it in and forgot about it all because somewhere between what is up in my head and what I’m trying to take down on paper, which lets face isn’t a long journey but sometimes a bumpy road – I can look back on those reviews from people I will never meet. Those lovely souls that don’t have to be kind because they know me, and are bias because they have known me for years and don’t want to hurt my feelings – pure strangers that like my work – I can truly know maybe, just maybe I am on the right path and there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Love L

xox

Leave a Reply

