Music Monday

I want to start off by saying that I have always been a huge Kelly Clarkson fan and I always will be. I never saw American Idol and I had no idea who she was when I first heard Low. Here was little woman (actually I am only half an inch taller then her so I can’t talk) with a big powerful voice and I thought wow who is this. I brought Thankful and then after that I brought Breakaway. At the time I didn’t know how much Kelly’s music and lyrics would help me through a rough patch in my life.

At the age of twenty two I fell head over heels in lust with this older man but deep down inside my soul I knew there was something just not right about us. There was just something that was wrong. He ended up having a girlfriend and he tried all the same moves on a lot of different women. I was heartbroken and confused, not quite sure about how I felt, there was just too many emotions rolling around in my head. I pressed play on my stereo and heard Kelly voice singing the Breakaway album. Every single song and every single word was exactly how I was feeling. I found my voice.
I must have listened to that album a billion times in that time (and a billion after that time, trust me) I know I’ll never be able to tell Kelly how much that album got me through a dark times and if I ever met her I couldn’t be like a fan girl and tell her that Breakaway change my life but that doesn’t dispute the fact that Kelly Clarkson and her lyrics helped me and continue to help me.
I read a quote Kelly once said on boys: “You need to establish yourself before you let someone else in – I’m still finding myself”
Every woman should carry this woman in their pocket just like a Polly Pocket of wisdom.
love L
xox
Leave a Reply

