The One

tumblr_mohuzk83Kq1qzleu4o1_500

Okay so how many of us believe in the one?

I started to ponder this as I was watched SATC last night. There Carrie was typing on her laptop, much like I am doing now and I heard.

Hundreds upon hundreds of cards all decreeing you’re the one. Just imagine the hundreds and hundreds of wrenching late night phone calls all over this one idea. And it’s not just with love. It seems we’re always looking for that one thing to make our lives complete. That job, that chance, that family. I couldn’t help but wonder, when will waiting for the one be done?

Am I the only person that doesn’t believe in The One? Don’t get me wrong, I believe that certain people are meant to be in your life at certain time and sometimes only for a certain amount of time and oddly enough I believe in soul mates but I believe that soul mates aren’t always romantic. I know the one soul mate that I had was a friend and when he passed over I knew I would see him again in my next life………..but I am getting off track.
If you are lucky enough to meet the person you want to spent the rest of your life with, that make you more happy then you have ever been in your life and you choose to spend the rest of your life with them, that is wonderful and more power to you because happiness is all that matters in this world but were they destined to be the one, Your one Or are they the one because you choose them to be YOUR one?

I was reading the latest issues of Madison and an interview with Cameron Diaz and they were talking about the One and she said

“I think we’re all seeing in society now and in our lives, that it’s completely different,” she says. “We live our lives completely different to that ideal. Some people can go through their 20s, 30s and 40s and not find their true love. Maybe in their 50s they find their true love. You know what?” she asks “The way we’re living now, you’ve still got another 50 years with that person. Have somebody for five years, another person for five years and then maybe that guy for 10 years or another one for 20. Life is long if we’re lucky. Yes, love might last forever, but you don’t always live with the person you’ll love forever. You can love that person for the rest of your life, but you might love someone else along the way. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it.”

I guess that article kind of spurred on my thought about The One. I like Cameron’s theory.

So am I cynical or just forward thinking?

Love L

xox

Leave a Reply

