The World <3’s Boston – "Look for the helpers. You’ll always find people who are helping."

ny-hearts-b-516d947c

It has been a terrible and horrifying week, in this world we live in. I maybe be an Australian who lives in Sydney but my heart broke on Tuesday morning when I turned on the news and saw what had happened. Boston holds a place in my heart and the more I learn about Boston and its people, the more I love it. I once pictured myself living in New York, as every or most twenty something woman does, but over the past few months to a yr. New York has been replaced by Boston. Once I get published I want to go and see if I like it enough to live there. Everybody has their cities that they dream of living in, if only for a short time. Boston is one of mine. For a little while after the news broke I was so disenchanted by the world. So heartbroken that we could live in a world that this could happen. Who, what type of person thinks an act like that is okay. Why? How? What the heck for? I was upset and confused.

 boston-screen-shot_2537441e

I know there are places that this type of thing happens weekly and happens on a greater scale and let me make it clear NONE of it is right. No matter where it happens, it is still heartbreaking, it is callous and make no mistake it is evil. It all make me question why? Why now? Made me question what type of world we live in. I went to bed as confused as I was when I first turned on the news that morning.

 tumblr_mlbqis4lX81rfimo0o3_500

The next day I was scrolling through tumblr and saw the good work that had been done after the explosion went off. People helping the injured, strangers helping strangers. People walking the streets carrying three litre bottles of orange juice. Giving the people sitting in shock on the street of Boston a drink. Restaurants opening their doors to feed people. Other people opened their homes to those who were stranded, or offered lifts to people without transport. “I have a couch to offer and two beautiful chihuahuas to love you. My apartment is open to anyone in need.”

“Open wifi, place to charge your phone, cold drinks, or just don’t want to be alone,” tweeted the owner of El Pelon, ” My coworkers and staff deserve a lot of credit: not one blinked when asked, not one when home when they could, those not working came in.”

tumblr_mlfy8gYNoe1rw06vvo1_500

NY shining a light  on a building NY ❤ B – THAT’S the world I live in. What matter what evil happening in this world – the good always outweighs the bad. The kind hearts always outweigh the wicked. I refuse to not care. I refuse to let evil people make my heart cold. The day we turn cold, the day we stop caring for one another, weather we know each other or not.  is the day the people that think this type of behaviour is okay, they win. More than ever I refuse to let them win.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that – Martin Luther King, Jr.

I will live in Boston one day, that city will be my home. This event isn’t going to change that, if anything the kindness of Bostonians have made my decision that much easier and that much more in concrete because Bostonians are defiant, resilient and how can I not love that about a city. How could I not want to be apart of a city, like Boston

Love L

xox

Leave a Reply

