True Love might hurt but it NEVER Dies!!!

Stevie Nicks first met her future musical and romantic partner Lindsey Buckingham during her senior year in High school. She attended a  Christian social event, saw Buckingham playing and joined in with the harmony.Lindsey contacted Stevie a few years later and asked her to join him and his bandmates Javier Pacheco and Calvin Roper in a band called Fritz. Fritz became popular as a live act from 1968 until 1972, opening for popular musicians Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin, among others, Both Stevie and Lindsay attended University in Northern California. They dropped out in 1968 and moved to Los Angeles together to pursue a career in music when Nicks’ family moved to Chicago

If you have heard the Fleetwood Mac album Rumors you would have heard that their relationship didn’t have a happy ending –  just an ending but I still believe that Lindsay and Stevie love each other, very much
True Love might hurt but it NEVER Dies!!!

Stevie & Lindsey

Stevie & Lindsey5Stevie & Lindsey7Stevie & Lindsey1

At the end of a debauched and dramatic two months in Sausalito, California, recording “Rumours”, Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks split. Nicks tells Rolling Stone that Buckingham told her, “You take the car with all the stuff, and I’m flying back.” And he did, and went to the Sunset Strip and recorded “Go Your Own Way.” And for years the two of them sang it together onstage. Says Nicks, “I very, very much resented him telling the world that ‘packing up, shacking up’ with different men was all I wanted to do. He knew it wasn’t true. It was just an angry thing that he said. Every time those words would come out onstage, I wanted to go over and kill him.”

But I have to say my favourtie song about these two in a song Stevie wrote called ‘Silver Spring’ she originally wrote it for “Rumours” but the band didn’t place it on that album – thankfully when they decided to tour again ( in 1997 I think) they sand it on tour and placed the song on their album The Dance. Stevie put her heart and soul into that song and that is why I love it so.  My Favorite line

I’ll follow you down ’til the sound of my voice will haunt you. You’ll never get away from the sound of the woman that loves you

I always hold out hope that one day Stevie and Lindsey will get back together  one day because I think their love was the truest of all. Maybe that’s just the romantic in me

Love L

xox

Leave a Reply

