Role Models

Hi Lovelies,

True role models are those who possess the qualities that we would like to have and those who have affected us in a way that makes us want to be better people. Without saying my mother is one of my roles but there have been a far few other ladies that I look up to and this is why.

Jennifer Nettles – The amazing Front Woman of one of my favorite band Sugarland. She’s kooky, she has an amazing voice and she is just plain fun to watch.  She’s a killer vocalist and a skilled writer. When I listen to Sugarland it’s like they are writing about my life and she is singing my story at times. With lyrics like But if you can look in my eyes, And tell me we’ll be alright If you promise never to leave You just might make me believe, they kind of speak to my soul. I know some people don’t like her because she is quite in your face but Jennifer is who she is and she sings and writes from the heart and that why I love her. That’s why I look up to her.

“Don’t ever sell yourself short. Stand tall. Never be ashamed of who you are. You are beautiful, you are loved. You are needed. You are worth it. Promise me you won’t forget that. Promise me you won’t let your scars define who you are. Let your trials shape you. Let your victories humble you.”

Jennifer Nettles 

 

Cher –  So it all started when my dad changed the TV to the music channel. I was sitting there with my cousin Samantha  and this lady came on the TV. She was dressed in black leather and on a Navy ship. That’s right ladies and gents it was that clip and it was the moment I wanted to grow and be Cher. I was about four at the time. My Ma then introduced me to the Sonny and Cher show and I saw the same lady but now with really long black hair and really cool clothes. The next second she was dress as an Indian Princess and singing Half Bred  which is still one of my favorite songs.

“Women have to harness their power—it’s absolutely true. It’s just learning not to take the first ‘no.’ And if you can’t go straight ahead, you go around the corner.” 

~ Cher

 

Stevie Nicks – I found Stevie Nicks in my teenage years after she did a few songs for the Practical Magic soundtrack which I was in love with and constantly played for six months over and over again. Of course I knew she was in Fleetwood Mac but somehow the two never mashed up in my head. Nevertheless I thought Stevie Nicks was Awesome. Full of charm, warmth and mystery. I wanted to grow up and be this gypsy goddess or at least have half of the magic and presence this rock chick has.

 

“I was not going to be a stupid girl singer. I was going to be way more than that.”

~Stevie Nicks

Carly Simon – I really got into Carly Simon a few years ago. My Dad is a huge  James Taylor fan and I had always heard the name Carly Simon and I knew that they had been married at one point, also knew that she sang you’re so Vain. I mean I didn’t live under a rock. It was until I brought an album called Another Passenger  that I called myself a fan. Another Passenger” isn’t one of Carly Simon’s more popular albums. There’s no big single. Dishonest Modesty” are laugh-out-loud clever (“And you can House and Garden/Vogue and Glamour, Mademoiselle/but I know you can Bitch and Screw/and Penthouse just as well”). and the Elton John-esque “Libby” is a touching ode to a long-time friend and kindred spirit. ( Yes it is my favorite and it’s not only because it’s a song with my name in it lol. It also about Paris lol)

 

A really strong woman accepts the war she went through and is ennobled by her scars. 
~ Carly Simon

One thing all these women have in common is there all strong, independent and proud of who they are  which is something I like to take on every day. Our toughest critic is ourselves  and we need to step back from the bad thing we think of ourselves  and concentrate on the good things  because the bad things can wear us down.

Love L

xox

Leave a Reply

