Ms Edie Sedgwick

 Image

When you unhitch a disastrously damaged and beautiful thing from it’s perhaps, loathsome moorings  and send her out into the world, she’s at great peril  ~ Danny Fields, Edie’s room-mate in NYC

 Image

 

I’ve been mildly obsessed with Edie Sedgwick for all most a year and I am sad to say that I knew nothing about her until I saw Factory Girl. Once I knew who she was, and this sound strange to say, since she died thirteen year before I was born but I had an instant connection with her, just like Pattie Boyd before her.Maybe I have a habit of wanting to understand what it is about Muses that made them inspire the people around themImage

If you don’t know about Edie, she was an American actress, socialite, fashion model and heiress, she is best known for being one of Andy Warhol’s superstars . Sedgwick became known as “The Girl of the Year” in 1965 after starring in several of Andy Warhol ‘s short films, in the 1960s.Dubbed an ” It Girl “,Vogue magazine also named her a ” Youthquaker “

 

 

 Image

 

Edie’s style and flair for dramatic makeup were at the time, as unique as she was, and one thing the Edie was in her life was unique. They say her beautiful brown eyes were the size of tea cups

 

 

Sadly she was a very delicate person and she needed people around her that would love and take care of her, sadly The Factory  crowd  weren’t the right people to be around and she went down the avenue of drugs to find comfit and died at the age of twenty eight.

 

I think people get too wrapped up in the bad or wrong thing she did and not on the beautiful person she was. Following the end of her close association with Warhol, Edie moved into the Chelsea Hotel after accidentally burning her Manhattan apartment.  It was here that she became close to Bob Dylan, and it is speculated that this relationship quickly turned to infatuation on her part.  However, after Sedgwick discovered that Dylan had married, their relationship terminated.  By this stage, she had squandered her trust fund and began her downward spiral into the depths of drug and alcohol abuse, her life of glamour no longer apparent.  By November 16th, 1971, Edie Sedgwick was dead, at only 28 years old, leaving behind her a legacy which would influence generations to come. Including me…..

 

 

 

I want to go back in time and met her and try and save her, which is crazy I know but I wish someone could have done that for her. Oddly enough thirty seven years after her death, she inspires me now  and I wish she knew how much she is loved now, even after her death.

 Image

Jim Morrison once said: I see myself as a huge fiery comet, a shooting star. Everyone stops, points up and gasps “Oh look at that!” Then- whoosh, and I’m gone…and they’ll never see anything like it ever again… and they won’t be able to forget me- ever.

 

This to me is Ms Edie Sedgwick

 

 Image


 

Leave a Reply

